The State of Utah has formal reciprocity or recognition with over 30 other states (see map below). The Utah Pistol Permit is available to non-residents who complete the Utah Pistol Permit Course conducted by a Certified Utah Pistol Permit Instructor. The permit is valid for 5 years and is easily renewed. Please note that the Utah Pistol Permit is a Carry-Only Permit. In order to purchase firearms and ammunition you must have a pistol permit from your home state.
Interested in Getting Your CT & Utah Pistol Permit Course Done in One Day?
Check out our CT/Utah Combo Course Page
Some prior shooting experience is required. If you are unsure, please call Laurie at
203-828-6792, for more information.
This 4-hour, class room only, course will cover basic handgun safety, ammunition, shooting fundamentals, Utah law with regard to firearms and the use of force as well as Federal Firearms laws.
Everything you need to complete this course and submit your application will be done for you in class, including:
- One passport sized photo
- One completed fingerprint card
- Copy of your drivers license
- Utah CPF Application stamped with Utah Certified Instructors Seal
- Envelope ready to mail your application and accompanying paperwork to UTAH BCI
1481 Southford Road, Southbury, CT 06488
$75. A $25 deposit is required to register.
$25 deposit is non-refundable, but may be transferred to a future class if you cannot attend the original class. Any money paid, over the price of the class deposit, may be refunded.
$100 Private Course Fee. If you are interested in setting up a private class the fee is $100 and may be divided up between however many people you have joining you for class. Please note this fee is in addition to the course fee of $75 per person. Email Laurie to schedule: firstname.lastname@example.org
CLICK MAP TO ENLARGE
With a CT Pistol Permit & Utah Pistol Permit
You will be able to carry in the following states